Thank your governor for saying yes to refugees

If your governor has expressed support for Syrian refugees, thank him or her for promising to continue welcoming all refugees by sending a letter and tweet (see below) today. Find a list of governors who have said yes and their contact information at the bottom of this page. 

Sample Letter

Governor [name of your governor]

State of [name of state]

State Capitol Building

[City, State, Zip]

 

Dear Governor [name of your governor],

I commend your commitment to continue to provide sanctuary for Syrian refugees in our state. Thank you for staying true to our values and rejecting the politics of fear.

As Americans, it is our responsibility to provide for those in need, especially displaced peoples, who are overwhelmingly underserved and disproportionately victims of violence.  These communities have long been embedded into the fabric of this country, and have contributed to the success of our nation in innumerable ways. I—along with the National Network for Arab American Communities (NNAAC), and its Campaign to TAKE ON HATE—appreciate your recognition of their value to our communities.

Thank you for your part in promoting unity and a welcoming environment for all.  

Sincerely,

[insert name/title/organization here]

 

Sample Tweet

[Insert governor's Twitter handle] Thank you for staying true to our values and rejecting the politics of fear #RefugeesWelcome @NNAAC @takeonhate

 

Governors

Jerry Brown, California

Tel:(916)445-2841 
email: governor@governor.ca.gov

@jerrybrowngov 

 

Dannel Malloy, Connecticut

Tel:(860)566-4840; (800) 406-1527 
email: Governor.Rell@po.state.ct.us

@govmalloyoffice

 

Jack Markell, Delaware

Tel:(302)577-3210

email: jmarkell@state.de.us

@governorbentley

 

David Ige, Hawaii

Tel:(808)586-0034 
email: gov@gov.state.hi.us

@govhawwaii

 

Mark Dayton, Minnesota

Tel:(612)296-3391 
email: mark.dayton@state.mn.us

@govmarkdayton

 

Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania

Tel:(717)787-2500 
email: governor@state.pa.us

@wolfeforpa

 

Peter Shumlin, Vermont

Tel:(802)828-3333
email: pshumlin@state.vt.us

@govpetershumlin

 

Jay Inslee, Washington

Tel:(360)753-6780 
email: Governor.Gregoire@Governor.wa.gov

@govinslee

 

Kate Brown, Oregon

Tel: 503-378-4582

http://www.oregon.gov/gov/Pages/contact.aspx

@OregonGovBrown

Do you like this post?